RPGs Are Like Writing A Script…

New Binky’s Blog, where Binky explores the idea that writing and playing RPG video games are very similar, in fact, almost the same. Read on to see how the two relate.

Or should I specify that it’s ALSO the other way around. Writing a script is like playing an RPG video game. Be it web series, feature film, short, or even writing a novel, they each have scenes, they each have installments, and there is a multitude of possibilities. I am willing to bet that no one who writes scripts and stories has never ever NOT written at least 2 versions of a scene or ending. I often write or at least think about the various possibilities for my characters, for my story, for my endings. Sometimes I write several versions. In my latest fantasy web series (still in creation and funding mode) I enjoy using the Seers as a means to include the various possibilities within the story itself. And many stories have characters who see the possible futures and the story plays around that, so we get to see what could happen, we get to feel what we want to happen and we get to see what the author decided will happen, which can or can not coincide with what we hoped to see happen. Good stories are complex and include what we think will happen and what we didn’t see coming. Some of these good stories are video games.

Read the full Blog.

About binkyproductions

Binky Productions is a film production company that produces films, skits and commercial videos. Celinka Serre is the founder and president of Binky Productions. Writer, Director, Producer, Editor, Actor, among other things, she has been working on various titles since the age of 20. View all posts by binkyproductions

Comments are disabled.

